Better

via Daily Prompt: Better

Things are going to get better. That’s what I always tell myself when things get rough. An optimist, I choose to look at the brighter side of things always most of the time.

It’s also about accepting the things that I cannot change. Changing the ones I do can. And knowing the difference between both.

That has been a wise quote recently reminded to myself to which I look how it can be applied to my current situation. There’s just so many things I want to do; so many things I want to change that sometimes the sheer magnitude is overwhelming and often, paralyzing.

As I strive to improve and make things better, I end up unable to move or do anything at all. I end up lost and drowned in my heroic attempts and end up questioning the relevance of it all.

But all is not lost. I tell myself. I can always pick myself up, do a breather as is often advised and move forward. The road to becoming better is not an easy one but something that must be tackled.

A friend once said that his greatest fear is mediocrity. That has struck me deep and resonated to my core. I strive for excellence. I push myself to be better. For I fear complacency and being in a plateau with nowhere else to go.

There’s always room to be better.

Author: elleica

Jesus Lover. Writer. Blogger. Biologist turned marketer. Child of Learning. Thrill Seeker. I long for my next adventure.

Tell me what you think. Leave a comment.

