Making the Leap

I have always wanted to take this leap of faith. To move from one cashflow quadrant to the next. This time, I am finally able to make it.

I learned from Rich Dad, Poor Dad (and since I got engaged with networking) that the best kind of life is to become financially free. The road to financial freedom means moving from being an employee to a business owner and eventually an investor.

cashflow-quadrant-with-arrow

I have been stuck in the employee quadrant for close to 7 years now. I promised myself that when I hit 30, I have to be able to make it on my own. I must have my own business.

However, because I didn’t possess the financial discipline, I have been a slave to the employee rut with close to zero savings to show despite the 7 solid years of working. I did get promoted and learned a lot and though I earned decently, I never managed to save enough.

This has prevented me from taking the leap because I also had to be practical. You cannot just give up on a job and move towards the next quadrant without enough savings.

That is about to end this year. By God’s grace, I am able to confidently make the leap. With enough to sustain me for 2 months should I still not be able to earn enough. I have learned financial discipline. I have learned to become a good steward. Armed not just with knowledge but actual financial results, I am able to take the leap.

But of course I am not taking the leap blindly. I have my options. I have my opportunities.

CALL IT FAITH

When I answered God’s call to apply as a full time ministry worker for our church, I was not sure if I will be able to really sustain the current life I lead – much less pay the bills I currently pay.

But I knew He will never fail me. So I took the leap and declared my resignation from the company and my intent to become a ministry worker.

But this also involved wisdom.

God did not ask me to do it all in one go. It was not a sudden transition. There was a time to prepare. And during the past 6 months, my confidence grew that I can really do it.

I have seen the other opportunities I can take to finally say I am moving forward. I am saying goodbye to employment. Moving on to owning my own job. Eventually, I’ll make it to the other quadrants. But at least, now, I am making a step.

There are times when I am still afraid. When I still feel the fear of moving out of my current comfort zone into the unknown. But these moments I attribute to like that moment when doing extreme sports. When you are about to jump off a high place, you get all nervous but you know there is nothing wrong with the wires holding you. So eventually, you take the plunge and you’re in for the ride of your life.

NEXT STEPS

In the coming months, I will finally be taking this blog down. I will be more active online which means I need to build my brand online. I have some ideas but this smorgasboard of a blog that I had since I began will not be part of it. The age old posts of a young (and immature self) may prove to be detrimental.

So this may very well be my final post.

How I live my life after this – I cannot yet tell. But I am excited for it to happen. So stay tune. Soon, there will be a MOVING SOON sign here.

Author: elleica

Jesus Lover. Writer. Blogger. Biologist turned marketer. Child of Learning. Thrill Seeker. I long for my next adventure.

Tell me what you think. Leave a comment.

