Big Steps Ahead

As they say, a journey of a thousand miles begin with a small step. Achieving a bigger goal consists of achieving several small goals that ultimately build up to this bigger goal.

I have recently been introduced to Nerd Fitness. It was by accident that the blog site was introduced to me through an email subscription. It was lauded for having really cool “hand drawn” graphics.

The site’s background / appeal is to superhero “geeks”. Basically anyone familiar with gaming, anime, Marvel/DC comics, etc. But the mission is to get these geeks to use their geekiness towards achieving physical – and eventually overall – fitness.

As I browsed through the site I was introduced to many unconventional wisdom i.e. breakfast is not the most important meal of the day. The site encourages people to join the “rebellion” towards the mainstream fitness advice the Internet and world in general gives out. It encourages people to ask these best practices and find out what works well for them and to enjoy the process of getting fit.

As I have been recently inspired (thanks Arrow!) to become fit and made fitness goals when 2016 started, finding the site was like a match made in heaven. In the past weeks, I have immersed myself into crafting the ultimate workout for me.

I have embraced a  life of regular workouts and healthy diet. And my diet is unconventional at best. It’s a Paleo-inspired diet. I say “inspired” because I am not a purist and basically I just follow Paleo principles in eating. So far, so good. I like the results.

As to workouts, I am preparing my body to be ready for Parkour.🙂 Such a lofty goal I know but as I said, big goals are achieved by accomplishing smaller ones and thus far, I know I am on the right track.

How do I know for sure? The Nerd Fitness Rebellion Forums has been a tremendous help. I have spent most of my online “social” time there and as a result slashed on my FB social time which I have recently deemed as a waste of time. I caught myself being sucked into the depths of the FB News Feed scrolling it for hours on end. So I slayed the beast and now enjoy a more fruitful online time.

As a sample of how geeky I am right now, I am currently a member of the Assassins Guild. I am part of the sub-team Teen Titans currently training in 3 super powers – Regeneration, Invulnerability and Super Toughness. Last week, I was at the Leaderboards for Super Toughness. This week, I am holding my fort at Invulnerability (currently leading in this superpower).

Geeky right? But every one of those aspect is connected to my real life overall fitness.

What do I get out in the end? Well the achievement of  my Epic Quests as I have outlined here: Epic Quest Character.

I imagine my next days to be filled with more adventures as I tackle this big game called Life with these simple and easy daily steps.

Author: elleica

Jesus Lover. Writer. Blogger. Biologist turned marketer. Child of Learning. Thrill Seeker. I long for my next adventure.

Tell me what you think. Leave a comment.

