Blessing Meals

I’ll let you in a secret. I don’t pray before meals. I’m a self-confessed active Christian yet I don’t bless the food the same way others do. 

Not that I am ungrateful. I am thankful for every morsel of food I eat. It’s just that I have learned what true prayer is. 

It is being with Jesus every step of the way, talking to Him at every moment and knowing that He hears me all the time. 

It’s not about words spoken out to impress. Or words spoken out of habit. 

Prayer is communication. It’s communication to God. 

And so it must be natural. Must be heartfelt. Not canned. Not memorized. Not repetitive. 

And so, in between mouthfuls of food, when I blurt out Thank You Lord or send a silent prayer of thanks from my mind, I know He hears me and I’m confident He knows how grateful I am in my heart. 

Author: elleica

Jesus Lover. Writer. Blogger. Biologist turned marketer. Child of Learning. Thrill Seeker. I long for my next adventure.

Tell me what you think. Leave a comment.

