the fluidity of change

Change is once again about to happen. And I marvel at the fluidity by which I accept it. Of course change is never easy. As I have learned quite recently, the happy hormones in our brains are programmed alongside normalcy, patterns and routine. Hence change, which is often times disruptive brings about the range of completely opposite hormones hence leading to anxiety, stress and discomfort. (Sidenote: Check out my post on the brain hemispheres.)

But knowing that change is inevitable, I have long learned to simply go with it the quickest and most efficient way possible. There’s no sense in dilly-dallying and prolonging change. If it’s about to happen, then it will happen so better do it as soon as you can.

After nearly a year, I will facing change again. Quite abruptly in the limited human mind frameset but timely in the grander scheme of things.

It’s a change in residence. Probably one of the biggest change that happens in one’s life next to a career change. After all, as humankind evolved, we have longed surpassed the tendency to become nomads – always fleeting from one place to the next. The change is for the better and though entails much responsibility, is actually a step towards greater maturity. With it, I am forced to be the adult that I am now, no longer hiding in the qualms of semi-adulthood. Managing a full-fledge household, actually having a place of your own, to me is the next step to actual adulthood soon to be followed by settling down (!). But that is far-off and as yet a far-fetched idea (quite a surprise from someone who desired to be married just months ago).

Well – nothing is permanent in life than change. Quite the irony but is the reality. And so, the only thing we can really do about change is be fluid with it.

Author: elleica

Jesus Lover. Writer. Blogger. Biologist turned marketer. Child of Learning. Thrill Seeker. I long for my next adventure.

Tell me what you think. Leave a comment.

