Shadows and glimpses of you


 

Then there was the fallout,
And both of us were left alone.
I knew this was bound to happen,
I should have known better, I should have known…


 

How could I ever say “I am sorry”,
After all things went wrong, went awry.
Yet I’d give anything, everything, even sell my soul,
If it means to have you, to love and to hold.


 

But both of us know that it would never happen,
It would never come true,
Even if the skies would forever darken,
Never for me and you.


 

All I can do is catch stolen glimpses of you,
All I can do is never be real, never be true.
All I can do is wallow in shadows of you,
Caught up in the past, never really seeing a good view.


 

I will be content staring at
Shadows and glimpses of you.
I’ll forever be following your shadow,
I’ll be forever caught up in the blue.


 

I’ll be distant, aloof and away,
I will be silent; I will have nothing to say.
Even if I wanted to be with you, yes, it’s true…
Catching up on stolen glimpses of you.


 

You’ll be comforting others for a while,
And cheering up others for a time.
You’d be someone else’s sun in their sky,
But I am asking myself, why can’t it be mine?


 

This is all I have, all I can save
Are the memories of you and me walking away.
Now those memories are just like a receding wave,
Or a setting sun in an abandoned bay.


 

Ghosts of the past
I was extremely blissful while it did last,
I experienced love that was really true
With shadows and glimpses of you.
 
 
4
 

 

 

By: JVA

Author: elleica

Jesus Lover. Writer. Blogger. Biologist turned marketer. Child of Learning. Thrill Seeker. I long for my next adventure.

Tell me what you think. Leave a comment.

