on phobias and brain parts

The amygdala.

The part of the brain that controls fear. Extreme fear.

How I wish the bigger cerebrum could take control of the amygdala. But then I knew it could not.

As much as I tried to rationalize my fear, still I could not shake it off. I know this is a phobia. A very valid one.

I am a Bio student. A hustler of all things natural. A nature lover. I know what to do with snakes – in theory. I know not to be afraid of them. I know what to do when I encounter one.

But the cerebrum, for all its largeness and convolutions, is still defeated by the midget amygdala. I freeze on the site of a snake. My senses now know how to appreaciate them. Their color and patterns. Their uniqueness. But my pulse would still race. Sweat would still pour. Breathing would still pant. And I am frozen on the spot with the next step my running away from the source of it all – a very illogical thing to do because the snake is also afraid of me!

Sigh. How I wish I could overcome this. I love nature tripping but my phobia keeps getting in the way. Tsk. Tsk.

How I wish the cerebrum could take control of the amygdala. Much as I wish for it to control the hypothalamus.

Author: elleica

Jesus Lover. Writer. Blogger. Biologist turned marketer. Child of Learning. Thrill Seeker. I long for my next adventure.

2 thoughts on “on phobias and brain parts”

  1. Sure you train your amygdala by simply imagine that the front part of the amygdala is connected with your forebrain.
    This will activate the front part of the amygdala with the forebrain. You then can tighten this connection with nice thoughts, pictures and music. In this way you can also resort your fears. get the fears in your mind and and imagine that ne nerves and conenctions are growing from the amygdala to your forehead.
    snake -> everything is ok-> smell something good-> imagine how you will approach the snake. train this and you will see over some days and weeks the shift to the forehead and you take the controll.

    wish you a nice time

    Like

Tell me what you think. Leave a comment.

